There is growing anticipation for a decision from the Ministry of Health (MoH) to reduce the period of compulsory quarantine and review the list of 34 countries from where expats are banned entry into Kuwait, however, there is no change regarding the quarantine period for those coming from abroad, Al-Rai said, quoting informed sources.

The quarantine period is set at 14 days, according to what the health authorities decided, despite calls for a reduction to 7 days, similar to other countries.  The health authorities revealed that the work will continue for the current period, as they are committed to the recommendations decided on according to their assessment of the coronavirus situation, the daily, referring to sources.

MoH’s announcement comes after it received from the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) a proposal to reduce the quarantine period for arrivals to 7 days instead of 14 days.

On the other hand, the health situation continues to be assessed with regards to the list of 34 countries, in the interest of removing or adding new countries to the list based on the health assessment of the coronavirus infection rate in these countries.

In a letter addressed to the Undersecretary of the Ministry of Health, the DGCA made a proposal that the time spent by arrivals in quarantine in Kuwait should be limited to 7 days instead of 14 days that is currently stipulated in health requirements, as long as other conditions remain, the most important of which is a PCR test certificate for all those coming to Kuwait.

If this proposal is approved, it will be a good economic incentive and reduce the losses for airlines, which are important in the travel sector, and would help towards restoring the economy in Kuwait towards the right path. The DGCA noted that the countries of the region cancel or reduce the quarantine periods in favor of a “PCR” certificate, and urged for such a study to be done.

Expats arriving to Kuwait from abroad have to undergo home quarantine, and failing to adhere to the rule, will be referred to the judicial authority. Violators shall be imprisoned for three months and a fine of KD 5000 or one of these two penalties will be given for failing to respect the home quarantine rule as per the law regarding health precautions to prevent the spread of communicable diseases.

Citizens and residents arriving from all countries are subject to home quarantine except for those coronavirus-infected countries mandated for institutional quarantine. Obligatory home stay is a condition for a period of at least 14 days, including refraining from going to work, alongside following up with medical doctors and carrying out all necessary instructions and advice.